My Mythothon Round 7 TBR

I’ve seen Mythothon on my Twitter timeline before, but this is my first time actually participating! Theseus and the Minotaur is actually not one of the Greek myths I’m familiar with, which makes the group book for this readathon extra exciting for me!

If you want to learn more about this readathon you can look at the announcement post here. Without further ado let’s get into my tbr!

1. Poseidon: Read a book with a watery theme OR with blue on the cover.

Wretched Waterpark by Kiersten White

I mean, this book is literally set at a waterpark, can it get any more watery-themed than that? I love White’s Camelot Rising series, but I’ve never read any of her other work and I’m always a sucker for a good middle grade series so I expect to fully adore this.

2. Pasiphae and the Minoan Bull: Read a book with a romance OR a book with a white cover.

The Drowned Woods by Emily Lloyd-Jones

I’m going to be honest and say I’m not 100% certain if this book has a romance and the standard cover is not at all white but I have the OwlCrate edition, which has a very pretty white cover. I think a folklore-inspired book is such a good fit for this readathon, and I think I’m going to love this one!

3. Daedalus and Icarus: Read a book about a parent OR a book that will make you cry.

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint

This prompt is basically nothing I ever want to read, so instead, I’m taking advantage of the opportunity and I am going to read the group book instead! I got Ariadne as my pick from Book of the Month a while ago, and since I don’t know much about this myth at all I’m excited to read a book that ties into the readathon itself.

4. Androgeus: Read a book with a game or competition.

The Sunbearer Trials by Aiden Thomas

I have an ARC of this and I also preordered it, so suffice to say that I am excited to pick it up. Considering one of the comp titles I’ve seen floating around for this book is The Hunger Games I am completely certain that this book fits this prompt and I am incredibly ready to dive into it.

5. Theseus Charges In: Read a YA book OR a book with a number in the title.

Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

I have tried to read this book numerous times, but it is so dense and complicated that I put it down and then forget about it for several months at a time. I’m enjoying it when I read it, it’s just taking me forever to read, so hopefully, this gets my butt in gear.

6. Ariadne: Read a book with gold foiling OR get help from a friend by asking for a recommendation.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

I didn’t even have to ask to know that a majority of my friends would want me to finish The Raven Cycle, so I decided to make this prompt The Raven King. This is also on my summer tbr, so I’m excited to get it squared away and finally finish this series!

7. The Minotaur: Read a book with a battle OR a book with a weapon on the cover.

The Ones We Burn by Rebecca Mix

I’m pretty sure this book could fit both of the prompts, although I was specifically zeroed in on the weapon on the cover. I’m not as excited about this book as I once was, but I already had an ARC so I may as well read it.

Extra Prompts to Complete

8. The Island of Naxos: Read a book with a party or celebration.

How to Catch a Queen by Alyssa Cole

I just overall need to read more Alyssa Cole, because ever book of hers that I have read was fantastic. This was probably the hardest prompt for me because it’s difficult to tell whether this elements are going to be in a book but I think there’s a wedding? Which I would consider a celebration.

9. Aegeus and the Sails: Read a book you forgot about, from the back of your TBR.

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I read the first book in this series when it first came out, and promptly forgot that a second book even came out for a good solid couple of years. I really enjoyed book one though, and I expect that to continue into book two!

10. King Theseus: Read a book about a hero OR a book from the POV of a villain.

Aru Shah and the City of Gold by Roshani Chokshi

You cannot tell me that Aru is not a hero. This is the fourth book in this series and while she doesn’t always have the purest intentions, Aru is absolutely a classic hero in practically every way and I can’t wait to read more about her adventures, even if her story is coming to an end.

And that’s it! I didn’t end up using any of the life savers, and I’m really excited for all of the books on this list. Are you participating in Mythothon? What books are you planning on reading? If not, what does your September TBR look like?

Leave a comment